

2025 ACSM Honors Program

Signia By Hilton Atlanta-Room: Triumph Ballroom E Friday, May 30, 2025, 5:45 p.m.

Presented by



Presidential Welcome and Recognitions

Stella L. Volpe, PhD, RDN, FACSM, ACSM-CEP 2024-2025 ACSM President

Presentation of New ACSM Fellow Members
Presentation of Staff Presidential Award
Presentation of Honor and Citation Awardees

Read more about the awardees here.

2025 Citation Awardees

Nancy Clark, RD, FACSM
Jos J. de Koning, PhD, FACSM
Joseph A. Houmard, PhD, FACSM
Sandra K. Hunter, PhD, FACSM
Arthur Weltman, PhD, FACSM
Nancy I. Williams, ScD, FACSM

2025 Honor Awardee

Stanley A. Herring, MD, FACSM

Gavel Transfer

Stella L. Volpe, PhD, RDN, FACSM, ACSM-CEP to Carrie A. Jaworski, MD, FACSM

Introduction of President-elect

Karin A. Pfeiffer, PhD, FACSM

Closing Comments

Carrie A. Jaworski, MD, FACSM 2025-2026 ACSM President

Open Reception / Food Service begins

Congratulate awardees

Event Close

8:30 p.m. *Subject to change

2025 New ACSM Fellow Members

Arnel Aguinaldo, PhD Amy Bantham, DPH Ali Boolani, PhD Franz Burini, MD Katherine Collins-Bennett, PhD Scott Crawford, PhD Katharine Currie, PhD Racine Emmons-Hindelong, PhD Julie Greeves, PhD Garett Griffith, PhD Christopher Harnish, PhD Kristen Koltun, PhD Robert Kowalsky, PhD Karl Kozlowski, PhD Martin Lindley, PhD Jill Maples, PhD Lee Margolis, PhD

Scott McLean, PhD Vicki Nelson, MD, DO Jennifer Oberstar, MD Thomas O'Leary, PhD Erika Rees-Punia, PhD Nicole Rendos, PhD Leanna Ross, PhD Jonathon Senefeld, PhD Pragya Sharma Ghimire, PhD Jeremy Steeves, PhD Daniel Trone, PhD Floris Wardenaar, PhD Erin White, PhD James Whitworth, PhD Kathryn Wilson, PhD Amanda Zaleski, PhD

2025 ACSM Diversity, Research & Training Awards

Charles M. Tipton Student Research Award

Jordan Parks, Mayo Clinic and Sophie Miller, Michigan State University

GSSI-ACSM Young Investigator in Sports Nutrition Award

Abbie McIellan, Loughborough University; Erica Tourula, Indiana University; Marissa Ramirez, University of New Mexico

GSSI-ACSM Young Scholar Professional Development Grant

Kelly Hines, Texas A&M University and Madison Fry, Indiana University Indianapolis

GSSI Diversity in Sports Science Award – Ph.D.

Bianca Alvarenga Rambo Galletti, University of Oklahoma and Cristal Benitez, University of Alabama

GSSI Diversity in Sports Science Award - Master's

Christiana Donkor, Central Michigan University and Antonio Leija, University of Minnesota

New Investigator Award

Jeann Sabino-Carvalho, Emory University and Malia Blue, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Science Integration & Leadership Committee Basic Science Award

Sarah Brownstein, Springfield College

Visiting Scholar Award

Huimin Yan, University of Massachusetts Boston

2025 ACSM Research & Program Grants

Carl V. Gisolfi Memorial Fund

Ziba Taherzadeh, University of Texas at Arlington

Clinical Sports Medicine Endowment

Chelsea Martin, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill

Franklin EIM-OC Microgrant

PA Assessment and Referral Grant Saori Ishikawa Braun, University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

PA Screening and Education Grant Emily Sauers, Our Lady of the Lake University

PA Promotion Grant Robert Herron, University of Montevallo

Paffenbarger-Blair Fund for Epidemiological Research

Julie Rekant, University of Maryland, Baltimore and Caitlin A. Cheruka, University of Central Florida

Raymond A. Weiss Research Endowment

Shawn Allen, Oklahoma State University and Gabriela Pontes, University of Utah

Research Endowment

Ryan Montalvo, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University

World Athletics Research Grant

Thomas Madden, Montana State University

Xero Shoes' Minimal Footwear Research GrantMarni Wasserman, Indiana University

2025 ACSM Foundation Travel, Research & Leadership Awards

Barbara Campaigne Women's Health, Sport & Physical Activity Travel Award

Ana Carla Salamunes, Pennsylvania State University; Christin Domeier, Florida State University; and Jennifer Rice, University of Limerick

Drinkwater Leadership Award in Women's Health, Sport & Physical Activity

Margie Davenport, University of Alberta

Gail E. Butterfield Nutrition Travel Award

Jesse Sims, Kent State University and Grace Zimmerman, University of Utah

Howard G. "Skip" Knuttgen International Scholar Award

Andrea Pilotto, University of Pavia

International Student Award

Alicia Kells, University of Western Ontario; Kotaro Nakao, Ritsumeikan University; and Sindre Midttun, Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Jack Wilmore Legacy Travel Award

Emily Grammer, University of Virginia and Jessh Mavoungou, University of Tennessee at Knoxville

Jim and Linda Pivarnik Women's Health, Sport & Physical Activity Travel Award

Jordyn Cox, University of Alberta; Lauren Bates-Fraser, American Cancer Society; and Lee J Hinkle, Brigham Young University

Joseph Hamill Access to Science Award

Anabel Groskopf, Concordia University Chicago; Elizabeth Bjornsen, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Ephrem Mekonnen, Simon Fraser University; Francesca Di Rocco, University of Cassino and Lazio Meridionale; Jiaqi Wang, University of Southern California; Keven Santamaria-Guzman, Auburn University; Kristen Quigley, University of Nevada-Reno; Quinlan Thompson, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Ryan Evans, Western University; Shraddha Sudhir, University of Illinois Chicago

Lisa S. Krivickas Clinician/Scholar Travel Award

Abena Tannor, Ghana College of Physicians and Surgeons

Michael L. Pollock Student Scholarship

Ashley Carlisle, Mayo Clinic and Monica Teegardin, Indiana University Indianapolis

Priscilla Clarkson Undergraduate Travel Award Heidi Deuel. St Olaf College

Steven M. Horvath Travel Award

Carly Williamson Rogers, University of Pittsburgh and Jonathan Cerna, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Leadership & Diversity Training Program Participants

Level 1

Angelique Luna Bria Smith Christian Corral

Level 2

Rafael Alamilla Alexa Krause Diana Morales Timber Terrell Tony Harris Manuel Gomez Christian Burke James White Manuel Muñoz II Bethany Guerra

Level 3

Xavier Thompson, PhD Chloe Jones, PhD Morgan Smith, PhD Mai Wageh, PhD A'Naja Newsome, PhD Sarah Deemer, PhD Mayrena Hernandez, PhD Drew Gonzalez, PhD



